- See & Do
- What's On
- Dining Out
- Canterbury District
- Plan My Visit
Open to all and free to visit, one of the UK's finest collections of Masonic artefacts will take you on a surprising and informative interactive journey through the history of Freemasonry in Kent and beyond, dispelling myths along the way.
Honey Hill, Blean, Canterbury, CT2 9JR, Tel: 01227 765168, www.druidstone.net
Set in attractive gardens and woodland, Druidstone Park caters for the imagination of all ages. Go on a walk through the enchanted woodland and enjoy hands on experiences with the farmyard animals.
5 Oxford Street, Whitstable, CT5 1DB, Tel: 01227 276998, canterburymuseums.co.uk/coastal-museums/
Dive into maritime history and explore the town at Whitstable Museum and Gallery. The fascinating displays give townspeople and visitors an idea of why Whitstable is here and how it has changed over the years.
Castle Street, Canterbury, CT1 2PR, Tel: 01227 862162, Email
The ruins of the Canterbury Norman Castle keep and castle walls and one of the three original royal castles in Kent. There are interpretation panels, a tactile model of the castle (circa 1200AD) and elevated viewing areas.
King Street, Fordwich, Canterbury, CT2 0DB, Tel: 01227 711950, www.fordwichtown.org/
Although it is believed that there was an earlier building on the site, the present Guildhall, or Town Hall as it is known today, was built in 1544 during the reign of King Henry VIII.
Chartham Hatch, Canterbury, CT4 7LS, Tel: 01622 662012, www.kentwildlifetrust.org.uk/reserves/bigbury-camp
Bigbury camp is a pre-Roman Iron Age hillfort in Howfield Wood. There is some evidence that Bigbury is the site of a battle recorded by Julius Caesar during his first visit to England in 55BC.
25 High Street, Canterbury, CT1 2BD, Tel: 01227 471688, www.eastbridgehospital.org.uk
Eastbridge Hospital was founded following the murder of St Thomas Becket in Canterbury Cathedral as accommodation for poor Pilgrims visiting his tomb.
Island Wall, Whitstable, CT5 1EP
Whitstable Oyster Yawl, which is also known as a smack, was built in 1890 by the Whitstable Shipping company and worked until 1944. She can now be viewed between the seawall and Island Wall, about 200m east of the Neptune pub.
Adjacent to 6 Stour Street, Canterbury, CT1 2NR, Tel: 01227 471688, www.eastbridgehospital.org.uk
Greyfriars Chapel is the only building now remaining of the first English Franciscan Friary built in 1267, forty three years after the first Friars settled in Canterbury, during the lifetime of St Francis of Assisi.