search

Canterbury

'Canterbury's past is as rich as it comes' says the latest Lonely Planet guide to Britain. This world-famous cathedral city was one of medieval Europe's great places of pilgrimages and knowledge. Today - with its international visitors and four universities - it still has a distinctly cosmopolitan feel. Less than an hour from London, it's in that corner of England that's almost touching France.

People come from across the globe for world-class heritage, for culture and festivals, to visit and to study, eat and hang out. The extraordinary cathedral dominates the medieval streets within the city walls. Among the listed buildings, a boldly modern theatre - named after the city's famous son Christopher Marlowe - has been built on the river bank, and an art museum has been restored and doubled in size. To the south is St Augustine's Abbey, part of the World Heritage Site, and England's first seat of learning.

There's something warm and mellow about this intimate European city. Crowds throng around the entrance to the cathedral and in the busy high street. It's lively and fun. But it's also remarkably easy - in a moment - to step off the beaten track into some quiet oasis where you'll hear nothing but songbird, and the splash of oars on the narrow, gently flowing River Stour.

What's On In Canterbury

Christmas Shopping Event

Christmas Shopping Event

Sun 19 Nov 2017

IELTS Preparation Courses

IELTS Preparation Courses

Wed 27 Sep - Wed 13 Dec 2017

Level 1 Award in British Sign Language

Level 1 Award in British Sign Language

Sun 1 Oct 2017 - Thu 1 Mar 2018

Meet the Marlowe Theatre Panto Cast!

Meet the Marlowe Theatre Panto Cast!

Sat 18 Nov - Mon 18 Dec 2017

Autumn Charity Concert

Autumn Charity Concert

Thu 23 Nov 2017

Mark Watson

Mark Watson: MW

Fri 24 Nov 2017

Canterbury favourites Ben Roddy and Lloyd Hollett

Peter Pan

Fri 24 Nov 2017 - Sun 14 Jan 2018

© Tim Stubbings

Oh Yes It Is!

Sat 25 Nov 2017 - Sun 18 Feb 2018

The Alternative Comedy Show

The Alternative Comedy Show

Wed 29 Nov 2017

Festive Lunches and Christmas Parties

Festive Lunches and Christmas Parties

Fri 1 - Sun 24 Dec 2017

Harry and Chris

The Harry And Chris Show

Sat 9 Dec 2017

Live At The Marlowe

Live At The Marlowe

Mon 11 Dec 2017

Rachel Brown

Revolutionary Flute Quartet

Thu 14 Dec 2017

Grenville Hancox

A Ceremony of Carols

Sat 16 Dec 2017

Nicholas McCarthy with Kent Sinfonia at Canterbury Festival

What's On

Discover events taking place in the city of Canterbury from live music, theatre and film to children's activities.

What's On

shoppers in whitefriars shopping centre, canterbury

Shopping

For those with a yearning for retail, Canterbury has it all. Offering high street names and big fashion brands, Canterbury is also home to independent retailers.

Shopping

Book Your Stay in Canterbury

Type of Property

 

Visit Date

 

Location

 

Rating

 

Or Property Name

 
 

Where to Park

Find out more about where to park in Canterbury.

Where to Park

Download the MyCanterbury App

advert for downloading the MyCanterbury app

Make the most of your time in Canterbury - find the best places to eat, drink, shop and go out plus all the latest deals & offers at shops, attractions and events with MyCanterbury.

Download Free App

Canterbury Connected BID, logo
Whitefriars Shopping Centre logo
The Canterbury Tales Visitor Attraction logo
MyCanterbury logo

Follow us on:

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Instagram Icon Pinterest Icon
You are accepting third-party cookies. powered by NVG