search

Our Vision

 

The revitalised, extended and restored Beaney Art Museum and Library encompasses library and information, art and heritage and collections and visitor services.

The ethos of the Beaney is to enable individuals to explore, learn, participate and create using the permanent collections, special exhibitions, community engagement programme, educational activities and library for inspiration, learning and enjoyment.

Our Priorities
  • To promote cultural excellence by providing a superb facility and innovative programmes and services.
  • To be at the heart of the community by encouraging active community participation.
  • To support economic and social regeneration in Canterbury across East Kent by attracting visitors and helping local people to develop key skills.

Museum and Galleries' Priorities

  • Excellence.
  • Nurturing skills, knowledge and creativity.
  • Active engagement and collaboration.

Library and Archives Priorities

  • Promoting reading and literacy.
  • Providing access to information and promoting digital inclusion.
  • Bringing people together.
Exterior of the Beaney Art Museum and Library in Canterbury high street

About the Beaney

Click here to find out more about the Beaney art museum and library.

 

 

 

Dutch stained Glass Window inside the Beaney Art Museum and Library

Explore the Beaney

Discover the rooms and galleries within the newly refurbished Beaney Art Museum and Library.

 

 

displays inside the Beaney Institute c1900

History

On 16 September 1897 the Mayor of Canterbury laid the Beaney Institute's foundation stone. Canterbury had been left a bequest by former resident, Dr Beaney.

restored griffin at the Beaney Art Museum and Library

Restoration Project

The revitalised Beaney re-opens to the public in September 2012. Find out more about the careful restoration project and view images of the work undertaken.

Follow the beaney on:

Upcoming Special Exhibitions

Lure: Kate MccGwire - Saturday 29 March to Sunday 27 April

 
 

Events & Exhibitions

Of Mice and Men: Drawings by Brian Francis - Saturday 29 March to Sunday 6 July

Crafty Kids - Espression Arts - Tuesday 15 April to Wednesday 16 April

Beautiful Birds - Tuesday 17 April

Jumping Beaneys: Easter Egg Hunt - Friday 18 April, 10.30am to 11.30am

Radio Arts Showcase - Saturday 19 April to Sunday 27 April

Kipling & Trix - Thursday 24 April, 6.30pm to 7.30pm

Brownies Big Birthday Exhibition - Saturday 3 May to Sunday 1 June

Improv4... Wellbeing - Sunday 4 May, 11am to 3pm

Sounds New Poets - Tuesday 6 May to Thursday 8 May, 12pm to 2pm

Dementia Awareness Week - Monday 19 May to Saturday 24 May

Old Teddy Bears, Rupert Bear and Bagpuss - Thursday 22 May, 6pm to 7pm

 
 

Email sign-up

Have details of our latest exhibitions and events sent straight to your inbox